The 2004 IAAI Chapter of the Year

In 2004, the Indiana Chapter (#14) was awarded with the International Association of Arson Investigators James L. Smith Outstanding Chapter Award. The following is a synopsis of the basis for the award:

  • An increased membership of nearly 20% during calendar year 2003
  • 23 new IAAI CFI’s in the previous two years, including the first two female CFIs in the State
  • First State in U.S. (we think) in which every Deputy State Fire Marshal has become an IAAI CFI
  • The formation of the Indiana Fire and Arson Conference (Initiated in 1999 with approximately 80 attendees; doubling to approximately 160 attendees in 2002 and 2003). It’s financial success has allowed for the first ever donation ($2,500) to the Indiana Burn Camp for Children
  • 2003 Creation of the State Chapter’s first website
  • Increased training seminars throughout the State
  • Streamlined Chapter organization and efficiency by breaking State up into Districts and coordination of training and communication through District Directors
  • Merging with, and assuming the responsibilities of, the Indiana Arson and Crime Association and the statewide Arson Hotline and Reward Program (entailing the development of a set of guidelines and a committee for the oversight of this program)
  • One of the first Chapters to go online with International regarding dues payments
 Jack Fetrow presents Steve Shand (right) of Shand Forensic Investigations with the 2017 Terry T. Fleming Lifetime Achievement Award.

In 2004, IAAI Executive Director, Alan Clark, presents
Chapter 14 President, Mark Elder, the IAAI Chapter of the Year award.

The Indiana Chapter continues to excel in many areas, thanks mainly to the participation and individual efforts and accomplishments of our members.

From the Board of Directors to our members: Thank You and God Bless!

Share this page on social media